Home » Czech Republic » Czech women are making school change happen

Czech women are making school change happen

During the last intuitive pedagogy course in April we had some guests from Czech republic. Katerina Kotkova, Jana Knotkova and Ivana Petlachova stayed here even after the week-end was finished and I had a possibility to make an interview with them.

Czech mothersWhat was so fascinating about these women?

All three are mothers and started an initiative in Prague that within four years have changed the lives of many people. In the beginning it was an outdoor childcare group led by a professional. As the children grew older and were ready for school an informal forests class for nine home-schooling children was established.

This first attempt to bring the children back to nature has inspired many in their country. Today there are tens of forests groups for young children in Czech.  This is a great example of how an alternative educational movement has started and all because some active women wanted their children to grow up in a natural way.

I do not want to retell their story. Instead I would like you to listen to the women themselves as they were in my living room. You can hear a ten month old baby moving around, getting feeded and continuing his path. You can hear the sound of some instruments that attracted the interest of the guests. You can hear inspiring women proudly telling about the success and difficulties they have been facing. Please come and be my guest!

If you would like to know more about the school or contact them look at the schools homepage.

Photo: Achilles Nasios.

One thought on “Czech women are making school change happen

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly.

Leave a Reply

